

Board of Directors Meeting Tuesday, December 15, 2020 Via Videoconference

MINUTES

Participants: Glen Howard, Chair

Scott Bess

Michelle Gillard Elizabeth Lindsey Lisa Mallory

Catherine Meloy Debra Swangin Jose Turcios April Young

The following staff members were also present: Chelsea Kirk, Colleen Paletta, Rosa Proctor, Elizabeth Rienzo, Josh Wallish, and Sandra Wasden. Ms. Rienzo recorded the minutes of the meeting.

Mr. Howard called the meeting to order at 9:40am and welcomed new student board members, Debra Swangin and Jose Turcios.

Mission Moment

Dr. Kirk presented the Mission Moment, emphasizing college access and healthy living and celebrating the admission of July 2020 graduate Tahira Ben-Anxi to Catholic University. Dr. Kirk and Ms. Paletta also gave an overview of GEC's wellness initiative with MooseFit.

Approval of Minutes

Mr. Howard asked for any proposed corrections and/or other revisions to the minutes of the November 5, 2020 Board meeting. Upon motion duly made and seconded, the **Board unanimously approved the minutes by roll call vote.**

Financial Report

Ms. Proctor welcomed and introduced the new CFO, Sandra Wasden.

Ms. Proctor presented the year-to-date October 2020 financials, highlighting several items of particular importance. After discussion, and upon motion duly made and seconded, the **Board unanimously approved the financial report by roll call vote**.

School Update

Ms. Paletta provided an update on school operations, focusing on the 2020 OSSE DC school report card, STAR framework, year-to-date goals, and school expansion. Extensive discussion followed, with Mss. Meloy, Paletta, and Proctor responding to questions.

Governance

Mr. Wallish presented a proposed slate of officers to serve during 2021. Upon motion duly made and seconded, the **Board unanimously elected**, by roll call vote, the following Board members to the positions listed after their respective names:

Glen Howard Chair
Elizabeth Karmin Secretary
April Young Treasurer

Elizabeth Lindsay Liaison to the PCSB

Mr. Wallish then presented a proposed slate of Board members to serve on the Executive Committee during 2021. Upon motion duly made and seconded, the **Board unanimously elected**, by roll call vote, the following to the Executive Committee:

Glen Howard Chair
Elizabeth Karmin Member
Elizabeth Lindsay Member
April Young Member

Catherine Meloy Ex Officio Member

Upon motion duly made and seconded, the **Board unanimously approved the 2021 Board Meeting Calendar by roll call vote.**

Upon motion duly made and seconded, the **Board unanimously reappointed**, via roll call vote, the following to the Audit Committee: Scott Bess, Michelle Gilliard, and Glen Howard.

Public Comment

No one from the public attended the meeting.

Mr. Howard adjourned the meeting at 11:00am.

Elizabeth Karmin Secretary